

Ola ma tumau i le alofa' 사랑 안에서 살기 Tinggal di dalam Kasih Nofoma'u i he Ofa 愛中合居

Procedural Proposals 1-9

01 Roll of the Assembly

That the Assembly resolve:

To adopt the roll of members, subject to any alterations advised to the General Secretary no later than 2.00pm on Saturday 17 July 2021.

Proposer: Colleen Geyer

Seconder: Andrew Johnson

02 Election of the President

That the Assembly resolve:

To elect Rev Sharon Hollis as President of the Assembly, to hold office until the installation of her successor at the next ordinary meeting of the Assembly.

Proposer: Colleen Geyer

Seconder: Andrew Johnson

Rationale:

The 15th Assembly elected Rev Sharon Hollis as the President-elect.

03 Appointment of Minute Secretaries

That the Assembly resolve:

To appoint the following persons as Minute Secretaries: Jenny Bertalan and Belinda Bones

Proposer: Colleen Geyer

Seconder: Andrew Johnson

04 Order of Business

That the Assembly resolve:

To approve the order of business and the timetable submitted by the Business Committee, noting that decisions to vary the order of business and timetable can be taken by the Assembly at any time.

Proposer: Colleen Geyer

Seconder: Andrew Johnson

05 Confirmation of the Minutes

That the Assembly resolve:

To authorise the following persons to confirm the minutes of the Sixteenth Assembly: Colleen Geyer, Sharon Hollis, Andrew Johnson and Heather den Houting.

Proposer: Colleen Geyer

Seconder: Andrew Johnson

Rationale:

It is the usual practice to authorise a small group of Assembly Officers and members of the Business Committee to confirm the Minutes.

06 Ballots and Nominating Procedures

That the Assembly resolve:

- (a) To appoint Scott Ballment as Returning Officer, and Rohan Pryor and Kath Merrifield as Assistant Returning Officers.
- (b) To appoint a Ballot Committee with responsibility for advising the Assembly on any questions relating to nominations and elections.
- (c) To appoint the following persons as members of the Ballot Committee: Scott Ballment (Convenor), Rohan Pryor and Kath Merrifield (Assistant Returning Officers).
- (d) To endorse the decision of the Business Committee that nominations for the Assembly Standing Committee, all Board and Committee Chairs and Advocates, closed at 5pm on 9 July 2021.

Proposer: Colleen Geyer

Seconder: Andrew Johnson

07 Association of persons with the Assembly

That the Assembly resolve:

- (a) To welcome Ecumenical guests, from other Australian churches and the National Council of Churches in Australia; and from overseas churches and international ecumenical bodies to the online meeting of the Assembly.
- (b) To note and thank the following persons for resourcing the Assembly at the Information Sessions held prior to the online Assembly meeting:

Mr Will Pearson for Frontier Services

Mr Geoff Batkin for UnitingCare Australia

Mr Andrew Glenn for UnitingWorld

Mr Steve Molkentin for Discipling the Next Generations Circle of Interest

Rev Alex Sangster for Transforming Worship Circle of Interest

Rev Ann Perrin for Growing in Faith Circle of Interest

Rev Dr Amelia Koh-Butler for Seeking Common Ground Circle of Interest

Rev Loni Vaitohi for Working for Justice Circle of Interest

Rev Dr Matagi Vilitama for Being a Multicultural Church Circle of Interest

Mr Stuart McMillan for Walking Together as First and Second Peoples Circle of Interest

Ms Janet Woodward for UC Adult Fellowship

Rev Dr Glen O'Brien for UC Historical Society

Dr Kaye Roberts-Thomson for Standards for Ministries Committee

Rev Stephen Robinson for Uniting Disaster Recovery

Rev Charles Vesely for Defence Force Chaplaincy Committee

Rev Kaye Ronalds for Defence Force Chaplaincy Committee

Ms Anne Cross for UCA Redress Ltd

Ms Sarah Lim for UCA Redress Ltd

Mr Peter Andrews for National Safe Church Unit

Rev John Cox for National Safe Church Unit

Mr Bruce Binnie for Mercer Superannuation Trust

Rev Robert Elkhuizen for Mercer Superannuation Trust

(c) To associate the following persons with the Assembly for the business as listed, with the right to speak but not to participate in decisions:

Ms Claerwen Little for UnitingCare Australia

Dr Sureka Goringe for UnitingWorld

Ms Jannine Jackson for Frontier Services

Mr Leo Iosifidis for Strategic Finance and Administration

Rev John Cox for National Safe Church Unit

Ms Sarah Lim for UCA Redress Ltd

Proposer: Colleen Geyer

Seconder: Andrew Johnson

08 Reception of Reports

That the Assembly resolve:

To receive the following reports of Agencies, Committees and Work Units:

B3 General Secretary

B4 Standing Committee

B4A Assembly Finances

B5 Assembly Resourcing Unit

- **B5A** Being a Multicultural Church
- **B5B** Discipling the Next Generations
- **B5C** Growing in Faith
- **B5D Seeking Common Ground**
- **B5E** Transforming Worship
- **B5F** Walking Together as First and Second Peoples
- **B5G** Working for Justice
- **B6** Church Polity Reference Committee
- **B7** Defence Force Chaplaincy
- **B8** Frontier Services
- **B9** Mercer Superannuation Trust
- **B10** National Disaster Recovery
- **B11 National Safe Church Unit**
- **B12** Remote Area Ministry Task Group
- **B13 Standards for Ministries Committee**
- **B14 Uniting Aboriginal and Islander Christian Congress**
- **B15 UC Adult Fellowship**
- **B16 UC National History Society**
- **B17 UCA Redress Limited**
- **B18 UnitingCare Australia**
- **B19** UnitingWorld
- **B20** Synod Reports

Proposer: Colleen Geyer

Seconder: Andrew Johnson

Rationale:

The reception of reports is implicit in the presentation of the report; and does not imply endorsement of any suggested changes of policy contained within it. Any policy changes need the approval of separate proposals.

Reports are provided to the Assembly for its consideration and the opportunity to engage with the work that is included in the report.

For reports discussed at Information Sessions (10-11 July 2021) or reports presented in plenary (either at the online or the reconvened meetings), questions from members will be received prior to the session/meeting, or at the point when the verbal report is made.

09 Threshold for Extension of the Appointment of the General Secretary

That the Assembly resolve:

- (a) That at least two-thirds of the members present and voting must support the extension of the appointment of the General Secretary.
- (b) To approve that the session dealing with the extension of the appointment of the General Secretary be a private sitting of the meeting.

Proposer: Andrew Johnson

Seconder: James Aaron

Rationale:

At the 14th Assembly, the following was resolved:

15.16 Threshold for Assembly and Standing Committee Staff Appointments

a) determine that at least two-thirds of the members present and voting must support the appointment or re-appointment of the General Secretary in order for such a proposal to pass